The Curse of the Iphone

Hand written on a piece of notebook paper is my blog entry I knew I would run sometime this week.  This was written on Sunday, October 6th.

I have a pit in my stomach.  I know I’m missing something. Someone could be trying to reach me. There could be an emergency. I feel like I’m going to throw up!

For less than an hour, sitting in this car, I am without my cell phone.  It is home and I am sitting in this parking lot of PetSmart waiting for my foster dog to come home from an in-town adoption event. No one is here and I don’t know if the van is later coming back from the city or I am late in meeting it.  I want my phone!

Normally I would be on the phone checking but here I am living “old school.”  I grew up like this. I spent most of my 20s without anyone having 24/7 access to me.  Andy and I might have bought our first cell phone in the early 90s but that was strictly for emergencies like when the car ran out of gas while I was driving on the Major Deegan Highway in the Bronx (note: not my fault – the gas gauge said half a tank!).  I didn’t use the monster-sized cell phone to entertain myself — just to call Triple A.

Now we can’t seem to live without the glow of the Iphone or Android or whatever “smart” phone you have. Sure wish I had even the old giant-sized Motorola with the giant antenna right now. I have been here for 45 minutes without seeing anyone from the rescue.  I hope I have to drive back and pick Kibbles up from somewhere.

My heart broke a little thinking that Kibbles was adopted and I wouldn’t see him again.  Luckily for me, it was just a snafu between the rescue not being able to reach me and when they didn’t see me in the parking lot they took him to another volunteer’s house.  I happily picked him up later that night.  He’s my right hand man and this week he met a new best friend Yogi.  Yogi is a new client for me.  Enjoy this video of Kibbles and Yogi!

5 thoughts on “The Curse of the Iphone

  1. PigLove

    I absolutely love to see babies running and playing in the yard. It is hysterical to watch! And mom/dad understand about the phone thing. It’s like an extension of your arm these days. You’re just naked and alone without it. XOXO – Bacon

    Like

    Reply
  2. kmagnificoDVM

    I really enjoy your blog…every single day. Keep up the good work, honest, insecure, open heart and everything that makes you… well, you…I really think you are amazing!,

    Krista

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

