The Bitter Sweet of Fostering

Kibbles in the lap of his new dad

Kibbles in the lap of his new dad

This weekend my beloved Kibbles got adopted by a wonderful man and his girlfriend.  He called her his partner…they are of the age where boyfriend and girlfriend seem a little ridiculous.  He’s retired but very active.  He’s planning on taking Kibbles on many adventures and making him into a boat dog.  We’ve already heard from them as to how much they are in love with Kibbles.

I’m sad to have to give up my co-pilot.  Kibbles went with me on a lot of my client visits.  We had him for about two months and helped him learn to let go a lot of the adolescent bad behavior.  He is so quick to learn and I hope his new family continues to work on his training.  I think he could easily be a therapy dog.  He has never met a dog or human that he hasn’t loved.  We were also working on agility and he is a natural…although the jumps throw him a bit.  He doesn’t realize that he can jump!

He does however realize that he can chew and new dad Donny bought Kibbie a nice Antler for when they get home to the new house. Kibbie, however, could not wait that long so he took it out of the bag, laid down in the store and chomped on it while Dad made his new tag.
Everyday I would ask Andy if we could keep Kibbles and everyday he would give me a pained look and roll his eyes.  I had a connection with Kibbs for sure that I haven’t had with my other fosters and that was clouding my emotions and causing me to lose a little focus on why I am fostering.

With Kibbles safely and happily adopted into a new family I can offer a foster spot to another pup and save another life.  I’ve had a few people ask me how I can give them away once they’ve been integrated into my family.  I won’t lie, some are tougher then others to let go but I’ve got to keep my eye on the prize — saving more adoptable dogs!

October is Adopt-A-Dog Month.  If you are thinking about bringing a furry friend into your family, please consider adopting from your local shelter or rescue.  Only around 30% of companion pets are adopted — that leaves a lot of lives in shelters, rescues and foster homes like mine.  We can only save so many.

2 thoughts on “The Bitter Sweet of Fostering

  1. PigLove

    Oh my friend. I felt your pain reading this. You’re doing amazing work fostering these babies and getting them to their forever homes. Don’t be sad. Kibbles will always remember what you did for him. Hogs and snout kisses – XOXO – Bacon

    Like

    Reply
  2. Monkeybutlerneeded.com

    One of my best memories was during a very bad day, I was walking into a store when I heard a familiar bark. In a car was one of my adopted foster dogs from years ago. (we have done animal foster/rescue for 10+ yrs) I stood by the car (ruining with AC) talking to my previous foster, delighted to see me again. Her owner came to the car opened it so I could properly say hello.It was the boast I needed to salvage the day. We still get X-mass cards from her and other adopted pets. Thank you for doing what you do. It is never easy.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

