I’m a Puppy and a Border Collie

Guess which puppy I am?

Guess which puppy I am?
Photo by datpet – http://www.datpet.com

I’m a puppy…new and starting my training.  I know instinctively some things and I’ve learned a lot over my 40 plus years of animal advocacy and pet ownership, but I am still wet behind my ears.  I am learning new training methods — embracing only positive training methods.  I find the study material incredibly interesting and a lot of things I thought I knew just don’t work or are not effective.

Association of Professional Dog Trainers - Dog Training Professionals

On Tuesday I am making my first journey to the Association of Professional Dog Trainers (APDT) conference in Spokane, Washington.  I’ve met a few other members through Facebook and an online class I took but I effectively don’t know anyone. I signed up to be a “Border Collie” at the conference.  These are people who help out in seminars, give out information and directions and basically help out the staff in anyway possible.  I’m looking forward to meeting new people but I’m on the shy side.

If you went to see some border collie puppies, I would be the one sitting in the corner staring at you but not coming to your calls. When I do things like this that are out of my comfort zone I usually put on this alter ego.  it is exhausting!  Some people build their energy off of other people…for me it is the opposite so this will be a big challenge for me.

But I love having a job to do (I guess I’m a good Border Collie!) so I’m happy to help and also have time to absorb a lot of information.  One of the sessions that I am helping with is about building a Prison Dog Training program and I’m so looking forward to participating in this.  I think it is an awesome program and benefits man and beast!

There are just so many things that I will learn so that I can teach my clients and work with my Mostly Mutts dogs so they can find great homes!  If we have the most adoptable pets we’ll be able to save so many more of them.  That’s what I want my life’s work to be and I know I will get there but right now I’m content to be the puppy in the corner trying to take everything in.

Leave a Reply

