Rescue Trauma…Rescue Drama

I love my work with my rescue, Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, and all the foster dogs that come through the Litt Palace of Puppy Love.  Sometimes, though, we get a repeat visitor because a Foster To Adopt (FTA) doesn’t work out but I want to tell you a story about a magical little rat terrier mix named Flop.

I'm all ears, says Flop when you talk to him

I’m all ears, says Flop when you talk to him

There is a great group of volunteers called the Friends of Cobb County Animal Shelter (FCCAS). Where I live in the Northwest suburbs of Atlanta, all of the county owned and run shelters are kill-shelters.  Mostly Mutts primary reason for existence is to pull animals from these shelters, fix them up (we get a lot of older or sick dogs) and get them ready for adoption and organizations like FCCAS help to get the word out about the residents of the shelter and help around the shelter with dog walking and socialization.  They had posted a picture of this funny little dog with big ears and a patch of toffee-colored fur on his side in the shape of a heart.  As soon as I saw his picture, I knew Mostly Mutts had to pull this dog out of the shelter and before I could even make the suggestion, a note went out to the volunteers looking for fosters for some of our newly pulled pups.  Flop was among them.

Oscar, our long-term foster, was suffering a heartbreak.  He had fallen in love with a Chipperke (Chihuahua/Schipperke mix) named Jazz (I’ll write another story of their love affair later).  Jazzypants, as I was fond of calling her, found a new wonderful home and left the Litt Palace of Puppy Love.  Oscar was so sad so I was looking for a new playmate for him so Flop came home with us one day after an adoption event.

Very soon after coming to the Litt Palace of Puppy Love, I noticed a rather obsessive/compulsive trait about Mr. Flop.  He became like a creepy, stalker boyfriend and would never leave my side.  If we sat in the big chair, he would lay across the back with his snout entrenched in my hair and snurffle my scalp. He was obsessed with my hair and scalp and would take every opportunity to smell my hair!  It was a little creepy so he became the foster known as Creepy Stalker Boyfriend (CSBF).

The first night CSBF stayed at the LPPL I awoke with the odd sensation that I was being watched and when I peeked one eye open, there was his little face staring at me as he rested his head on the same pillow on which I was resting my head! The title of CSBF really matched this dude!

Flop was adopted a few weeks after coming to the LPPL by a single lady and her two children. She immediately sent pictures, changed his name to Jimbo (to me exudes CSBF qualities to me!) and we thought it was a good adoption.  A few days into the adoption, she sends an email saying she’s having some behavior issues with him and since I was his foster and I am a trainer, Mostly Mutts forwarded the email to me.  I responded back and made some suggestions to her.  A couple of weeks later, she sent me a very strange email that she had to return Flop. My response was to give her the phone number to the Executive Director and ask her to cal.  We never heard back from her so we assumed she had worked out her issues.

Then the other night I could not sleep and I was looking at Facebook.  I saw a post from the Friends of Cobb County again and amazingly they had a little a picture of a little rat terrier mix boy with a heart on his side. Flop_ccacCould Flop have a brother?  Surely it couldn’t be him…he was just adopted out!  This dog was an owner turn in and his name was Buster not Jimbo.  Well, just to be sure we checked Buster’s microchip.  It WAS my CSBF!

So Flop is back at the LPPL for a little bit…he met a family today that might be a good fit for him with a little boy to call his own.  Once a Mostly Mutt…always a Mostly Mutt.  We take care of our own.

Leave a Reply

